HOLLY ENGELHARDT, R. Ph.
Education: 1995 graduate of the University of Cincinnati College of Pharmacy.

Experience: I have worked here at Bernens Pharmacy since I was 16 years old. I started as a part-time customer service clerk and worked all through high school. During college, I spent two summers at an internship at a pharmaceutical manufacturer in New York, returning to Cincinnati to finish my education and begin my career at Bernens Pharmacy. I have been with Bernens since I graduated in 1995 and became the pharmacy manager in 2001.

Pharmacy Interests: What I like the most about being a pharmacist is the one-on-one patient interaction, which can make a difference in our patients' therapies. We truly work together to provide the best patient care and follow-up. Our patients become extensions of our family and friends. We do our best to go the extra mile for our patients, to fulfill their needs beyond what others can do. Every day is a challenge and I love being here at Bernens to help solve the "problem" that can ultimately make someone's life better.

Personal: I am married to Steve Gillock and we have four wonderful daughters, Madeline, Grace, Mary Ella and Caroline. We are loving life, enjoying each day with the girls and watching them grow. After busy days and activities, we enjoy quiet evenings reading and playing games together.



JOANIE ENGELHARDT, R. Ph.
Education: 1987 graduate of Salem Senior High School in Salem, Ohio; 1992 graduate of The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy. Go Bucks!

Experience: As a college student, I worked at two independent pharmacies. I worked at one during my breaks in my hometown and I worked at one in Columbus during the school year. Right out of college, I worked at a chain pharmacy for two months. I soon realized that the independent setting was more for me. When the position opened up, I jumped at the chance to work at Bernens. I started my career here in August 1992. I am so lucky to work with great family and friends.

Pharmacy Interests: My favorite part of my job is talking to people. Whether it is an insurance issue or giving drug information, it is a good feeling when I know I have helped someone. I really enjoy the challenges that are presented to us every day.

Personal: I am married to Rob Engelhardt, a local pediatrician. Together, we have a vested interest in keeping the West Side healthy! We have four amazing children (Emily, Abby, Anna and Robby) and a big Goldendoodle named Nellie. As a family, we enjoy traveling and cheering on the Buckeyes.



SUSAN BLEY, R. Ph.
Education: 1993 graduate of McAuley High School. Pre-pharmacy studies at College of Mount St. Joseph. 1998 graduate of the University of Cincinnati School of Pharmacy.

Experience: I worked at chain pharmacies during college and briefly after graduation before beginning a career in mail-order pharmacy. I worked in this field for 13 and 1/2 years in a variety of roles including counseling patients and consulting with prescribers. In 2013, I began working at Bernens Medical and Pharmacy. I am excited to practice pharmacy in an independent setting and to be a part of this amazing company.

Pharmacy Interests: It was my dream since junior year of high school to be a pharmacist. My Uncle is a Pharmacist, and at that time, owned his own company. I saw how he interacted with his customers and thought how satisfying a career that must be. I want to make a difference in the lives of others and get to know my patients. At Bernens, I feel that I will have many opportunities to fulfill these goals. Everyone works together as a team here to provide exceptional care to all of our patients. The best interest of the patient is always at heart.

Personal: Growing up in Mt. Airy, I always thought I was a west-sider. It wasn't until I met my husband Stephen, a Delhi native, that I learned I was mistaken! We truly do live on the west side now with our "A-Team," Andrew, Anthony and Alex. I have grown to love the closeness and family feel of this side of town. I think it is a great place (the "best side") to raise our family. I enjoy organizing our home, taking walks, and attending the boys' activities. As a family, we enjoy movie nights, outings together, and taking vacations. We are axiously awaiting the arrival of the last member of our A-Team, a little girl due in July!

 

KEVIN SECK, R. Ph., PHARM D., MA
Education: 1996 graduate of Emporia State University, 2002 graduate of Western New Mexico University and 2013 graduate of University of Cincinnati College of Pharmacy.

Experience: I worked one year at a retail pharmacy in Arizona as a clerk. Then moved to Cincinnati and worked as a technician/intern at Remke/biggs for 5 years. I then graduated from pharmacy school and worked for Walgreens for 6 months, until I was fortunate enough to get hired by Bernens in 2014 and have loved every moment of it. I feel very blessed to be in such a great environment.

Pharmacy Interests: My passion in pharmacy is to help people understand why their medications ae important, how they work, and to further educate them on their disease states, so that our patients at Bernens attain the pinnacle of health, which everyone deserves.

Personal: I am married to the love of my life, Page Seck, and we have a wonderful daughter, Hope, who constantly amazes me.



KATE ENGELHARDT KUHLMANN, Pharm.D.
Education: 2001 graduate of The Ohio State University with a Bachelors of Science in Pharmaceutical Sciences. 2005 graduate of the University of Cincinnati College with a Doctrine of Pharmacy.

Experience: I have worked at Bernens since 1998. I worked in customer service until I went to college and then was a pharmacy technician through undergrad. I then became a pharmacy intern through pharmacy school.

Pharmacy Interests: The thing that I enjoy most about pharmacy is pushing its boundaries. I like to start new ideas, examine new thoughts that can aid our patients in every day life. I love to compound medications; it is a challenge to me that I find to be so worthwhile when finished. I also love our vaccination program and filling the gap between physician, patient and insurance.

Personal: I am married to Jared Kuhlmann, together we have twin boys Henry and Charles, and a sweet baby girl Cecelia. We love to spend family time playing outside with the neighbors and having weekend parties with their cousins.